Naval Battle: a paper family game

My extended family sat down last night after Thanksgiving dinner and decided to play a game rather than sit and watch mindless TV. We played a paper version of Battleship that my dad hastily drew out on paper as remembered from his youth. He asked if I could use my skills to make cleaner version for future family game nights. It was a nice family time. I present Naval Battle for you to download and use for your own family gathering.

This isn’t technically an RPG but it is a paper-based game that only requires printing and pencils to play. Rules follow the Battleship game from Hasbro.

Lo-Res version of the .pdf you download
when you click the link

4 Comments

  1. Wow. This is a great idea that I can’t believe I’ve never seen anyone else implement. Multi-player Travel “Naval Battle.” Simple. Elegant.

  2. Thank you Dr. C, I have to say though that I do remember playing paper Naval Battle when I was a wee lad. I just reconstructed it.

  3. Thank you for this recreation. I remember playing this in my youth.

    Might I suggest adding two rows and two columns? It would make the game more enjoyable for a larger number of players.

Leave a comment