Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Who’s in your jeesh?

I just finished reading Ender in Exile.  This is the most recent book in Orson Scott Card’s Ender Universe.  I saw the book in the bargain bin at Wal Mart.  Even though we are counting our pennies, my wife saw the look of glee on my face and acquiesced to its purchase.

Card’s stories about genius children saving the human race from the onslaught of an invading alien menace has got to be one of my favorite fictional universes.  The book was excellent and for the first time in a while I was immersed in world that I could not put down.

This is not a review of the novel.

What happened was this, Ender makes constant reference to his jeesh, a small private army of your friends who you know has always got your back.  I got to thinking that Ender was a pretty lucky guy to have a group like that.  Then I got to thinking who would be in my jeesh were I fortunate enough to have one…

In no particular oder:
Berin Kinsman; a superhero currently living in the desert southwest.  We have never met face-to-face, but he is a brother in every sense of the word.  During my darkest moments surrounding the death of Mrs. VS, Berin was there as an ear to listen, a reassuring voice, and source of inspiration.

William Lawton; my brother, my friend, my GM.  My daughter introduced us when she told me that I should come play in her gaming group.  Bill is one person who can honestly say he lives in my head (scary thought).  He gets me.

Brook Ullum; the children’s pastor at church.  She allowed me to once again use my puppeteering skills with children.  She shares my sense of humor (another scary thought).

Hank Harwell; an expatriated Texan.  He is an officer and a gentleman.  He shares my faith and has been a rock when I needed it.  Another of my brothers-from-another-mother.  We’ve never met face-to-face but I do know that someday we will.

Adrienne Paradis; my writing partner of over 20 years.  She’s one of the few people who knows Stev as well as I do.

S.L. Shirley; a fellow Dire Paladin.  Stefan would follow me into an autoduel with no questions asked.

48 Fan & Private Blackspartan; yes they’re my kids.  How many dads can say that they are friends with their children?

Lady Ashya T’Sai; my friend, my partner, my wife.  We were friends in high school.  I missed asking her out by three weeks.  She shares my sense of humor, my likes, my worldview, and many other things.  God brought her back in to my life after 25 years.  I don’t know what I’d do without her.

January 12, 2011 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Vulcan Stev | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

