Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Peeking in my window

It’s Thursday morning December 9, 2010.  I’m sitting in my favorite Panera Bread waiting for the library to open.  Christmas music is playing on the speakers.  Nearly every table is occupied with a customer.  Most of them have their laptops or iPads out.

The sky is gray outside and the sun is refusing to show itself today.  I know how it feels.  Neither Ashya or I wanted to get up today.  All three of the live-in boys felt the same way.  It’s just gray and cold enough outside that a nice blanket of snow would cheer things up.

Last night we had practice for the children’s Christmas program at church.  I have been blessed with a group of talented young individuals.  What they lack in polish they more than make up for in enthusiasm.  After church the family went to see Soccer Dude’s game.  His team won 6-4.

The job hunt is still proceeding.  I’m willing and ready to work but not desperate enough to take a part-time, minimum-wage, burger-flipping job as yet.  I’ll keep applying for jobs that suit my skillset.

Still no net service at the house.  Apparently we live far enough out in the “rural” area that there’s no DSL coverage.  I guess I find southern Missouri’s definition of “rural” amusing.  I can see plenty of neighbors from each window in the house.  In Iowa that would be defined as a neighborhood.

The Pirate has been doing well in his new school.  His grades keep coming back in the high 90s.  48 Fan is dancing with GC Jazz for the first time next Monday.  I should be in attendance at that concert.  Pvt Black Spartan is still serving our country.  She did want everyone to know that she passed her most recent PT test.

God Bless everyone.

December 9, 2010 - Posted by | Vulcan Stev, Vulcan Stev Family Journey | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Things seem to be good 🙂 Regarding the job, maybe consider short term contracts for thins you know you can do, but aren’t inline with your full skill set. That’s what I’m doing till I get a full time job.

    Comment by cassey | December 9, 2010

  2. Cassey, I’m looking into that. There will be an upcoming post about one of the short term things I’m looking at.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | December 10, 2010


Leave a Reply

