Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

A day that will live in infamy?

I really couldn’t post a demotivational poster today. How many of you actually know what happened 69 years ago?  The nation of Japan attacked the American Pacific fleet while docked at Pearl Harbor.

President Roosevelt declared the date “A Day that will live in infamy”.  Webster’s defines the word as a state of extreme dishonor.

The United States was attacked without provocation, drawing us into a war that claimed many of our finest young men and women.  That certainly lives up to the definition in my opinion.  We stopped Hitler from expanding his influence across Europe, sent the imperial hungerings of an island nation back to their home islands.

After the war America rebuilt Europe, we rebuilt Japan and rebooted their economy.  Today Europeans look at Americans with disdain.  Our economy is a mess because we import so much of our consumer goods from Asia.  Does today’s generation realize the sacrifices of that generation?  Do they even care that our freedoms which we take for granted were bought and paid for by the blood of those who gave their lives in service to our country?

Take the time today to seek out a WW2 veteran and thank them for their service to our country.  Then take the time to thank a current member of our armed forces and thank them for the job they are doing.  Just remember that we would be living in a very different world had it not been for the events of Sunday December 7th, 1941

December 7, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. First off, it was 1941, not 1942… ;p I greatly appreciate this post though Steve. Having had the privilege to take a trip to Hawaii during college, and having seen the Arizona Memorial with my own eyes, I can attest to the significance of today and what it has done for our nation. I saw the names on the wall. I took pictures of the oil that continues to seep to the surface, a somber reminder of all the lives lost before they could truly reach their potential. I remember speaking with one of the veterans of WWII who, at that time, came in daily as a volunteer to help visitors understand the nature of the huge sacrifice that was made for our freedom, as well as to “tell his own story” to anyone who was willing to listen. He was a sweet gentleman, who waited patiently outside the museum portion of the memorial in a chair beside the giant anchor that is yet another memorial in its own right. I don’t remember if the anchor came from one of the ships or not, but it had a plaque with info on it. Anyway, the gentleman took a specific interest in me for some reason, and gladly told his story as I sat in a wheelchair hanging on his every word. I can’t remember his name, or even what he said word for word, but I remember his face, his keen eyes, as they recounted the story. For him, I know it was a chance to share his life and his memories, but also cathartic. He could pay at least a small tribute to his comrades who no longer had the opportunity. He didn’t sensationalize the tale, and with each word, tried to drive home the necessity of never forgetting that day. I could tell he was haunted, felt guilty, and yet brave all at the same time. When he was done, we were both crying. He for the friends he lost, myself for the magnitude of it all, and for the innocence lost when an 18 year old boy had to watch his friends die beside him, all the while trying to help remove the enemy that threatened us all. Truth be told, I have no idea if he is even still alive today. But that experience is one I will NEVER forget.

    So, to that brave soldier who sacrificed his time in order to remind me of my freedom, I thank you again. And for any and all military personnel who have or continue to keep us free every day, THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart. Side note: Thanks ‘Nae, even if you aren’t fighting directly on the front lines. You are still keeping us safe, and for that I am grateful.

    Comment by April | December 7, 2010

  2. One of my treasured family photos is one of my maternal grandmother and grandfather, with him in his Navy sailors uniform. Ralph Killam was a Seabee in the South Pacific during WWII. Thanks Steve, for this.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | December 7, 2010

  3. @April – you weren’t the only one who pointed that out. I fixed it.

    @Hank – you are welcome.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | December 8, 2010

  4. A day that will live in infamy, until the education establishment stops including it in textbooks.

    How many of today’s high school students know about Pearl Harbor? My Grandfather & great uncle went off to war as a result of this attack. My Grandfather to the Pacific with the Navy. My great uncle to North Africa, Italy & Southern France in the Army. (Both survived)

    Today Pearl Harbor is approaching trivia status. Sad

    Comment by ccm2361 | December 9, 2010


Leave a Reply

