Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

What am I thankful for… 2010 edition

What am I thankful for….

I’m sitting here in one of Springfield’s public libraries contemplating the last twelve months of my life.  A year ago, Virginia had been declared cancer free by the doctors.  My daughter was planning on coming home for Christmas.  For the first time in a long time there were presents we had bought under the tree (not just presents donated to a less-than-fortunate family).  I had a good job that I enjoyed immensely.

Here I am November 2010.  Mrs. Vulcan Stev is gone.  #48 Fan is 400 miles away.  I’m laid off and looking for work.

What do I have to be thankful for?  LOTS!

I have been blessed not once but twice in finding Mrs. Right.  Ashya and I partners in EVERY sense of the word.  I miss Mrs. VS and I’m not belittling anything of the 22 years we were together.  However, Ashya and I fit like two peas in a pod.  God has blessed me with a very beautiful woman for me to love, care for, cry on, and be with.

I have 5 very wonderful children.  Pvt. Black-Spartan is protecting our country.  I am honored that my daughter is serving our country proudly.  Soccer Dude is very much his mother’s son.  He’s a natural athlete and I’m happy to cheer him on.  #48 Fan is maturing the time he’s spending away from Dad.  I’m seeing glimmerings of the man he’ll become.  The First Mate and The Pirate keep me on my toes.  I’m having a blast carting the both of them to and from the library to have internet time.

The fact that I’m not currently working has allowed me to get things done for the family that otherwise would’ve required either myself or Ashya to take time off work.

I prayed that God would heal Mrs. VS.  He has.  When I stop to think about how she could be just lying in a Hospice bed, not knowing anyone, not responding to anything, I realize that God has blessed us for saving her family from the pain of watching her ebb away.

I have air in my lungs.  I have food in the fridge.  I have gas in the car.  I have money in the bank.  There are others out there off far worse than I.

Being thankful means more than looking at all your stuff and living for that.  Being thankful means looking at your place in the universe and realizing that you are where you need to be.

Thank you God for all you’ve done for me in the past year.

November 25, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I’m glad you have your family Steve. Cheers mate!

    Comment by Gary | November 25, 2010

  2. That’s so beautiful. I am so happy for you and your new wife. Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

    Comment by Janet Lloyd Weber | November 25, 2010

  3. What a wonderful testimony of God’s faithfulness you have written here. We echo the sentiments exactly and are so thankful for both you, your family, and those you have brought into our lives and family. God’s timing is all important and you will find work I’m sure because you trust and depend on He who has begun a good work in you. Love you son. Mom

    Comment by Mom | November 25, 2010


Leave a Reply

