Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

You can remove the boy from Iowa…

A lot has happened since I last wrote anything for this blog. Where do I start?

The Pirate and I moved all of the important stuff (except #48 fan and his belongings) to the Ozarks right at the end of October. I’m discovering that enough of Springfield Missouri (ca. 1985) remains that I’m not completely lost. It’s strange seeing trees out my window instead of cornfields, but I’m getting used to that.

Ashya and I got married on Oct 29th. We’re realizing that there are more differences between us than Coke vs. coffee, but that’s not a bad thing. Things like how I fold laundry, sort the DVD collection, wash the dishes (yes I do laundry and dishes) are all foreign concepts to the new members of my family.

The Pirate has been enrolled in school. He’s liking the new environment and is making new friends. His reservations about moving down here are lessening each day. He’ll be ok.

We’re all adjusting to the new reality. But we are working on it.

The biggest thing I’m facing is still no job. It’s not like I expected the Ozarks to open wide it’s doors and say “Here Stev, take your pick of employment.” I’m just not used to sitting at the computer in a Library looking for work and calling it a productive day.

We can’t seem to find anyone who can give us unlimited net connection at the house. Plenty of companies are willing to hook us up but with three boys wanting to play internet games and me looking for work, we need unlimited DSL.

I’m on ye olde Book of Face when I’m at the library. I’ve still got plenty of posters in the works, but job hunting comes first. I’ve got an invitation from members of the old gang for a game night. I’ll be taking them up on that in the near future.

I will get back to regular posts. I promise you that. Life just hasn’t allowed me much of an opportunity to do so.

November 16, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Vulcan Stev | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Steve

    Wow, married. Congrats. And that’s bout all I got :p

    Comment by cassey | November 17, 2010

  2. Congrats!

    Great to hear from you again!

    Comment by ccm2361 | November 17, 2010

  3. Springfield! That’s a nice town. Cashew chicken on every corner.

    Good to hear you’re okay, man.

    Comment by Xose Lucero | November 23, 2010


Leave a Reply

