Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

I write like…

One of the things that took a big hit with the death of my wife was my writing. Now that I’ve finished up the estate, got the taxes done, and have the kids back in school, I’m dusting off some of the work that has been relegated to the back burner.

One of the things that I did was submit some of my ‘completed‘ short stories to the “I write like” website.  Imagine my surprise when my writing style came back as similar to one of my faves.

I write like
Douglas Adams

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

What really entertains me is the notion that my stories about a Vulcan who tries to experience his emotions is written in a similar style that is as much comedy as it is science fiction.  I feel somewhat honored.

Anyway, I’m getting back into the saddle.  I’ve got a really nice story in the works.  However I thought it’d be nice to provide a little bit of a Stev primer.  As well as a chronological listing of the stories I’ve finished.

Stev is a Vulcan who served in Starfleet aboard the USS Intrepid before becoming an agent of October (a loosely veiled reference to Section 31).  He has a pet tribble named Phread (rhymes with bread)

Stev has logically deduced that the complete suppression of emotions is contrary to the teachings of Surak.  He believes that Surak taught that emotions should be mastered.  Looking at the success of Spock (a Vulcan with insight into the human emotional spectrum) as Kirk’s second-in-command, Stev decided that he should experience his emotions.

Stev was then exiled by the Vulcan High Command for this “radical” belief.

Stev served onboard the USS Intrepid for a number of years before a mission that brought him to the attention of October (Section 31).  While on board the USS Intrepid he met and fell in love with T’Aiya Llire, a Vulcan/Romulan/Antosian.  The two were bonded and served aboard the Intrepid until Stev left to become an Agent of Section 31.

T’Aiya underwent mental conditioning to believe that Stev had died.  She suffered some severe emotional problems due to the unexpected depth of their bond.

Stev and his tribble underwent some genetic modifications.  Phread was given some technological improvements and during the procedure it was discovered that tribbles are sentient creatures.  Phread is now able to communicate using a computer interface.

After 10 years, one of Stev’s missions ended badly.  His superior officer broke protocol and ordered the USS Thunderchild into the area to rescue his officer. Unknown to the Section Chief of Station, T’Aiya was now serving aboard the Thunderchild.

Unwilling to put his wife through the pain and suffering of leaving her again, Stev worked out a compromise with his superiors.  Stev now serves both the Thunderchild as one of her intelligence officers and uses the ship as a base for his continued activities as an agent of Section 31.

Completed Steve stories: (in chronological order)

Return to Glory: Stev meets for the first time the officer who will later recruit him as a Section 31 agent

Shore Leave: Stev proposes to T’Aiya

The Stitch: Stev undertakes a mission into the past to clean up someone else’s mess.  This story introduces Stev’s protege

Found!: Stev is rescued by the USS Thunderchild

Blindsided: Just as Stev begins to settle into his new life, the Breen attack

Down Time: While the Thunderchild is docked at Starbase Earhart, Stev remembers his ‘shuttle accident’

August 31, 2010 - Posted by | Fluff/Inspiration, RPG, Star Trek, Vulcan Stev | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Steven my dear, you are a hoot! I wish I had the creative mind you do so that I could plot out what to put down. The grammar is not a problem, neither the spelling. Maybe when I retire from canning!

    Comment by JoAnne Nibbelink | August 31, 2010

  2. Thanks for the story links! Enjoying Return to Glory right now!

    Comment by Anarkeith | August 31, 2010


Leave a Reply

