Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Staring at a blank screen: Random thoughts.

Today is Sunday June 13.  The past three Sundays, I’ve been doing the weekly laundry while watching the NASCAR race.  This week I decided to take a laundry break and work on my semi-neglected blog.  I’ve been staring at the screen for the better part of 45 minutes and find I have nothing worth writing a column about…  I have plenty of random thoughts but nothing worthy of 500+ words.

Completely random thoughts

Boys left to their own devices do NOT pick things up.

Without a female influence in my home, we eat out more frequently.

It’s easy to get lost in a queen bed.

I don’t watch as much TV while I’m dealing with Virginia’s estate.

I can tell you who my real friends are.

I find myself still feeling guilty for noticing women.

Some people need to be visited by a goon squad.

The old adage of you don’t truly appreciate the small things until they’re gone is completely true.

Teenagers seem to think my house is cool hang-out.

Facebook games are addictive.

Many of my real friends have never met me face-to-face.

Some people have wa-a-a-ay too much time on their hands (apparently because they have enough time  to tell me how I’m doing everything wrong).

Hong Kong Phooey is a sadly neglected Hanna Barbera property.

Most comedys from my youth aren’t nearly as funny now that I’m an adult.

June 13, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Vulcan Stev |

4 Comments »

  1. Honestly I think all of those are worth 500 words, or whatever amount of words you’d want to give them beyond just a sentence, and I wouldn’t mind reading about them from you.

    As for eating out more frequently, maybe that’s a good thing, if it lets you get in family time without any of the distractions of home. Nearly all of my “summer trips” with my family this summer have been just going out to eat.

    Comment by Wyatt | June 13, 2010

  2. Hong Kong Phooey is a king among cartoons and deserves to be rebooted in full glorious James Cameron-o-vision. Then again, maybe not.

    I share your Hong Kong Phooey love. Don’t tell anyone. Let it be our secret.

    These are good random thoughts, Stev. Cherish them.

    Comment by greywulf | June 13, 2010

  3. From what I can tell, and this is a loose observation from the Sonoran Desert and not the cornfields of Iowa, you’re still processing a great deal of things in your head and heart. Each one is vying for the attention to be looked at and is equally important.

    If ever in doubt, consult the Hong Kong Book of Kung Fu.

    😉

    Comment by Gary Weller | June 13, 2010

  4. Hanna Barbera has a ton of great characters lost in la-la land. Hong Kong Phooey is towards the top of my list too.

    Comment by Larry Bullock | June 14, 2010


Leave a Reply

