Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Memories of Virgina

I remember about twenty-five years ago, I walked into the student union at Central Bible College.  My dad was inside with his study group (I was a senior in High School).  Dad introduced me to his classmates.  My attention was drawn to the striking redhead.  I wasn’t paying a lick of attention to my Dad at that point.  I was just wishing I had caught her name.

I remember about three weeks later, I found her working at the shoe store at the local mall.  It was near closing time so I went over and began talking with her.  I introduced myself and was delighted to discover that she remembered me.  I was even more delighted when she admitted that her car was broken and she needed a ride home.

I remember that Thanksgiving when I invited her to my family’s house for Thanksgiving dinner as she wasn’t going to have the time to go home to her family for the holiday.  She demurred saying she had nothing to bring.  I insisted.  She got a chocolate pie from her landlady.  I remember my younger siblings falling in love with Virgina because of her cooking skills.

I remember Virginia’s recollection of the day.  My family is blessed with natural volume to our voices.  Time with my side of the family can be a noisy rambunctious affair.  Virginia recounted to me that her landlady asked how the dinner went.  Virginia replied that she never wanted to marry into a LIKE mine.  I smiled at her admitting this to me after we’d been married and told her she didn’t marry into a family LIKE mine she married into my family.  She smiled back and said shed’ put up with my family’s noise if it meant she got to keep me.

I remember Valentine’s Day 1988 when she had invited me to Chicago to apply for a job where she worked.  I remember the bear hug I got from her when she met me at the Greyhound bus terminal in downtown Chicago.  I remember “Cupid’s Arrow” (her words not mine) striking that weekend.

I wish I could say that I have years and years of good memories about Virginia.  Unfortunately a head injury in the summer of ’97 has robbed me of many of them.  Memories come and go.  Memories have been altered.  I only post here what memories have been confirmed by others.

The Cancer Crisis is over.  I will begin chronicling my journey coping without Virginia and raising my boys.  I will continue posting memories about my wife and share them with you.  I have not stopped writing other posts and will continue those as well.

May 13, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Memories of Virginia | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. That’s beautiful.

    You won’t stop remembering. She is with you, always.

    Comment by greywulf | May 13, 2010

  2. Good stuff. Memories like these are what the Lord will use to sustain you in the coming days.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | May 13, 2010

  3. Memories can do a lot to keep us warm on cold days. HUGS!

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | May 13, 2010

  4. How well I remember those times. Treasure them in your heart, and the rest the Lord will restore to you.

    Comment by Gary Nibbelink | May 13, 2010

  5. I was saddened to hear of Virginia’s passing. She was a delight to care for while she was in the hospital. She was lucky to have a caring husband such as yourself at her side the entire time. If I recall correctly your birthday is tomorrow and I wanted to wish you a peaceful birthday in this time of great sadness. Dr. Roeder, Dr. Hochwalt and the rest of the oncology team also offer their condolences.

    Comment by Paul Buschman | May 13, 2010

  6. It’s nice to see your father figured out how to get into your blogs HA HA HA

    Comment by JoAnne Nibbelink | May 13, 2010

  7. Great “how we meet” story. I’m sure they’ll come to you when you need them.

    Comment by cassey | May 14, 2010

  8. @Greywulf – Thanks, I know.8) I just wish I could hold her one more time.

    @Hank – My brother from another mother. God has given you the gift of saying the rigth thing at the right time.

    @Ruthie – Thank you.

    @Dad & Mom – What would I do without family support?

    @Dr. Buschman – The UIHC staff was a great help through the entire week-long process. I commend the nursing staff, pastoral staff and the other doctors who bent over backwards to make sure family and friends were taken care of and comforted.

    @Cassey – Thanx, and when those other memories come back I’ll probably post them (if for no other reason than to preserve them for my kids)

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | May 16, 2010


Leave a Reply

