Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Cancer Crisis: an update

Updated 6:00 pm 5-9-10

This is an update of what I know as of right now.  Yesterday J.V. (Virginia’s best friend in the whole world) came and sat with Gin most of the day.  She reported to me that Virginia was sleeping most of the time.  She was concerned about the difference she saw in Virginia in just a week.

I got to the hospital this morning.  I was encouraged by the difference I saw in her from Thursday night to Friday night to this morning.  Her speech has improved and she’s not slurring her words.  She is sleeping more but given her condition that’s to be expected…

That’s when Dr. R. hit me with the news.  According to Dr. R. the cancer is VERY aggressive and is overwhelming the liver at an accelerated rate.  This is what caused the apparent drug overdose, the liver is not processing the medication as it should.  The swelling of the liver is what is causing Gin the pain.

Dr. R. is currently suggesting taking Virginia off the chemo because it is now doing the body more harm than good.  Dr. R. is no longer recommending the SIRS-Spheres.  What she is recommending is hospice and keeping her comfortable.  My Grandparents entered hospice in their last months of life.  I’m not stupid, “keeping her comfortable” is doctor-speak for “There’s nothing else we can do, death is coming.”

Hospice is coming to talk with us this afternoon.  More info as it becomes available.

added: 5/9/10 6:00 pm CDT
Hospice has been by.  Dr. B. has informed us that we are looking at 2 weeks to 2 months.  The cancer is VERY aggressive.  Virginia basically has a tumor where the liver is supposed to be.  I’m spending the night with Virginia at UIHC.  PIT #2 is watching his brother at home.  Pvt Black -Spartan has been put on Red Cross alert.

Virginia is sleeping more often than not.  Her speech is slow and slurred but it is an improvement over Friday.  They aren’t watching her vitals anymore.  They are keeping her comfortable and will be looking to put her into hospice nearer to the family.

I am not handling the news well.  I’ve been in tears most of the afternoon.  This is my wife we’re talking about.  I’m trying to be clinical about but I’m choking up as I write this.  I’m afraid that this series of articles will be ending sooner rather than later.  The thing is I believe that I will see her again some day.  That does not change the fact that I’m hurting like H*ll.  I don’t want to think about losing my wife of 23 years.  I don’t want to think about raising two boys alone.

May 9, 2010 - Posted by | Mrs. Vulcan Stev's Fight | , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. There are no words to express our sorrow at your situation. I can’t even begin to think of what to say, only that our thoughts are with all of you, and if there is anything at all we can do, you have but to ask.

    Comment by Jess Hartley | May 9, 2010

  2. My heart is breaking. Nothing but prayers.

    Comment by Berin Kinsman | May 9, 2010

  3. Steve, I went through this last year with Mom and yes, that’s precisely what the doctors mean. I am so sorry. Make sure they give her all the pain meds she needs to be comfy. You’re both in my prayers. Take care of yourself as well.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | May 9, 2010

  4. Steve, I am soooo sorry!!! I know there is NOthing I can do or say to make this better, but do know that my heart felt thoughts and wishes are with you and your family.

    Comment by Rose Compton | May 9, 2010

  5. My thoughts are with you and your family Steve. I can’t imagine what you must be going through, I just want you to know that there’s one more person out there who’s wishing you and yours well.

    Comment by Wyatt | May 9, 2010

  6. Hammer blows just hit me as I read this Steve. I can feel tears sliding down my cheek. I am overwhelmed at what you must be going through. For you, I will break my long-standing issues with G-d and pray for you and your family.

    Comment by Gary Weller | May 9, 2010

  7. I wish you guys weren’t going through this. You’re both in my thoughts and prayers.

    Comment by Stuart | May 9, 2010

  8. Oh my dearest son, Today has to have been the worst mother’s day ever just as the 14th of May 43 years ago was the best ever–the day you were given to us.
    I am overwhelmed at the support and comfort given to all of us by friends and family. Words cannot express the depth of feeling we have for those have come to our aid in physical and emotional ways.
    I will be praying for you tonight. I love you and Gin.
    Mom

    Comment by JoAnne Nibbelink | May 9, 2010

  9. If there is anything an online friend can do, let me know. I will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers.

    Comment by Larry Bullock | May 10, 2010

  10. Positive thoughts, hopes and prayers for you and yours.

    Comment by cassey | May 10, 2010


Leave a Reply

