Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Day 0 of being a Cancer Survivor

Today we got some VERY bad news.  Eight months after the final chemo treatment, my wife developed a pain in her side.  Last week she went in for a CAT scan.  The results showed spots on her liver.

Because of her history with cancer, her oncologist ordered a PET scan and biopsy of the liver.  Last week she went in for the PET scan and she had the biopsy on Monday.  Today we got the results.

The cancer has returned.  It has spread throughout her liver.  The doctor says it is both incurable and inoperable.  Right now the family is in a state of shock.  We’re not quite sure how to process the news.

I didn’t want to resurrect this feature of the blog.  God knows I didn’t.  However, I have to play the hand God dealt.  Neither Virginia nor I want this but we are trusting on God to either heal her here or heal her in eternity.  Either way we’ll keep folks appraised of the progress or lack thereof.

April 6, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Mrs. Vulcan Stev's Fight | ,

11 Comments »

  1. Is she eligible for a transplant? Can they even transplant livers?

    Comment by viricordova | April 7, 2010

  2. Well damn. I’m very sorry to hear that. I don’t think there is much else I can say. You’ve made this journey before, so I imagine you know the platitudes much better than I do. If any of them help, consider them said.

    If you’d like, I can ask my father (a priest) to add her to his church’s prayer list. I would need a name other than “Mrs. Vulcan Stev” to do so, though.

    Comment by Lugh | April 7, 2010

  3. I too have spread the word and had her added to prayer lists of all faiths. You and your family are always in my thoughts and prayers. I love you all, you’re an important part of my family of friends. If there’s anything I’m able to do, please never hesitate to ask.

    Comment by Berin Kinsman | April 7, 2010

  4. I am so sorry… Wishing you much strength and the best. I have experienced similar things in my family. Love each other every day, tell each other and enjoy every day. Sorry…

    Comment by Sunglar | April 7, 2010

  5. I wouldn’t know you or her on the street, Stev, but my hopes are for her to pull through. 4.9 points for you and yours, man.

    Comment by Dr Rotwang! | April 7, 2010

  6. Lord have Mercy. Will add her to my prayers.

    Comment by Mountzionryan | April 7, 2010

  7. @Viri – No that we’re aware of. We have another appointment on Tuesday for a second opinion and I’ll find out.

    @Lugh – This is a slightly different journey but the thought is appreciated. Her name is Virginia.

    @Berin – Thanks, my brother from another mother.

    @Sunglar, Dr Rotwang, Mountzionryan – Thank you.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 8, 2010

  8. Good luck!

    If she’s a candidate for that, a family member can donate a partial liver, which will leave each of them with part of a liver that will then grow into a whole liver. My uncle had to have this done and it worked well for him and my cousin.

    Comment by viricordova | April 8, 2010

  9. Sorry to be late to this post, but you and I have already talked. You know where I stand, and how to reach me if necessary.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | April 8, 2010

  10. @Hank – Thanks

    I will be posting again as soon as we have more info. For now we’re taking it one day at a time.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 9, 2010

  11. I send my best wishes and hopes to you and yours my friend. You’ll be in our prayers tonight.

    Comment by greywulf | April 10, 2010


Leave a Reply

