Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Life near an Iowa Cornfield 2-16-10 (Random Thoughts and Updates)

Short version: Modem troubles continue.  (I know it’s not technically a modem but it’s still giving me fits) Long version: It’s hard to keep updates coming when the router goes down after two hours.  It’s also hard to write updates when one is addicted to Farmville on Facebook

According to the INA (Iowa Newspaper Association) I am the 2nd best Ad Designer out of 22 in the entire state of Iowa for my class of my paper.  Considering that I wasn’t expecting an award in that category at all, I’ll take it.  One of my ads placed first and if I had access to it at home (maybe I can upload during lunch tomorrow…), I’d show you.

I’m still planning on uploading my Stev stories to this blog.  I am not done with the character at all, in fact my writing partner has approved the move.  We both felt very constrained by the writing club we were working with.  It all came down to “This is MY club and MY rules.  If you don’t like it leave.”  So I left.

I have found a Trek club I belonged to a while back.  They have welcomed me back with open arms.  The Klingon Strike Force is a good club and their website is topnotch.  Look for Chris DeHart if you stop by.

One Way Express is booked for this summer’s Central Iowa Fair.  After our fill-in job last year, the talent committee sought us out.  Goober is looking forward to bringing his unique sense of humor back to Marshalltown.

We’re still playing D&D at the Core (4th ed.) on alternating Saturdays.  As much as I enjoy 4e I cannot call it RP, it is definitely hack and slash.  I won’t reopen the dead debate on the game.  It is what it is.

 However, our gaming group has taken up TSR’s Top Secret.  I’m enjoying the game.  My character is an uber-hacker.  I’d tell you his name but he gives it out to no one.  The other players refer to him as “Techie”

There haven’t been many movie reviews posted here a the family has seriously cut back on the number of DVDs we buy and the number of movies we see in the theater (yes even though we have a dollar theater in town).  Though we did go see Sherlock Holmes and that review is in first draft.

Pvt Black Spartan graduates April 1.  I told her that is not a good omen.  She asked why.  I told her that going into Army Intel on April Fool’s Day didn’t seem like a good idea to me.

We’ve still got more snow on the ground than I care to admit.  According to Mr. Groundhog we’ve still got four weeks of winter… I want to know where Mr. Groundhog studied meteorology.

February 17, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

