Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Vulcan Stev Family Movie Review: Star Trek

star_trek_xi_ver19Starring:
Chris Pine …  James T. Kirk
Zachary Quinto …  Spock
Leonard Nimoy …  Spock Prime
Eric Bana …  Nero
Bruce Greenwood …  Capt. Christopher Pike
Karl Urban …  Dr. Leonard ‘Bones’ McCoy
Zoe Saldana …  Nyota Uhura
Simon Pegg …  Scotty
John Cho …  Hikaru Sulu
Anton Yelchin …  Pavel Chekov
Ben Cross …  Sarek
Winona Ryder …  Amanda Grayson
Chris Hemsworth …  George Kirk
Jennifer Morrison …  Winona Kirk

Synopsis by VS: Paramount is marketing this as the “untold” story of the classic crew’s first meeting.  This isn’t entirely accurate.  This is the story of the first joint mission of Kirk’s crew.  However, I hesitate to state they are the classic crew.  To paraphrase Spock, this is an alternate timeline.  Given that altered timelines, alternate universes, and time travel are an accepted part of Star Trek lore, I, and any hard-core fan, can and should embrace this as part of the Star Trek universe.  My rant on why Star Trek didn’t NEED a reboot is still valid.  Though, it’s what we got.  Given the positive comments I heard at the theater, Paramount was successful in pleasing both fans and the general population.  I’ll be blunt honest I have been prepared to loathe this motion picture since it was announced as a reboot.  However I found it to be very well done movie.  I hereby christen this new incarnation Universe 2.  Spock Prime, Classic 60’s crew, Next Gen, DS9, VOY all still exist in Universe 1.

Reviewers: VS, Mrs. VS, PIT #1, PIT #2, PIT #3

VS – 1.8 pointed ears
I am not going to go hard-core nitpicky.  My .2 deduction is on the basis of two things the volume and blinding lens flares.  I am not gonna deduct for the non-existent canyon near Riverside, Iowa, because who knows what’s going to happen to this state in the next 200 years.  It is nice to know that the University of Iowa still exists into the 23rd century as part of Starfleet Academy.  It is also nice to know that Iowa will be known for more than corn in the 23rd century as it’s got a very large fleet yard in the east-central part of the state.  I’m not going to deduct for the “crappy” coincidences that move the story along, as only the “Montgomery Scott is manning the same outpost near Vulcan that Spock Prime and Cadet Kirk end up on” is TRULY a coincidence.  The remainder of the coincidences are explainable and reasonable for the story.

My beef with the soundtrack is that is too blame loud.  The were portion of the movie that actually shook the theater.  The lens flares actually whited out some scenes it made certain portions of the movie very difficult to watch.

Mrs. VS – 1.75 pointed ears
The new alternate timeline made this film accessible to me as a non-trekker.  I enjoyed the story and didn’t need hubby to explain things to me every scene.  Downsides to this movie are the Ceti-eel inserted into Captain Pike, very disgusting.  I don’t care what it said on screen, where Kirk grew up looked more like Arizona than it did the state that my family and I call home.

The characters and characterizations were accurate enough that I knew who was who without needing to be told.

PIT #1 – 1.75
The setup to this NEW franchise was nice.  I agree with Daddy, this is Universe 2.  Universe 1 is left intact and undisturbed but we can have stories with real jeopardy in this new universe without invalidating 40 years of beloved back story.

My “Whut-the—-” moment that took me right out of the story, Spock and Uhura?  I mean c’mon.  What were the writers thinking when they penned that subplot?

PIT #2 – 1.8 pointed ears.
I didn’t want to see a reboot.  However being it is what we got, this was very well done.  The explanation was handled very well.  My only gripes with the movie were the canyon in Iowa.  I don’t see one on my map, but it may be leftover from the Xindii attack.  Also the destruction of the 60’s Vette was heart-breaking.

PIT #3 – 1.6 pointed ears
Cool I’m the captain of the Enterprise.  Chris Pike is named after me.  However, too much kissing in this movie and the fact that Uhura stripped to her underwear and half-naked green women are ugly is bad.  This movie was also VERY loud.

Overall 8.7 pointed ears out of 10.
This film NEEDS to be seen on the large screen at least once.  Anyone who claims to be Trekker and doesn’t like this film is just being curmudgeonly.  This movie manages to recreate the Trek universe without invalidating all that Trekkers hold dear.

Given the fact that I was prepared to absolutely loathe this movie and was bound and determined to not give it a “free pass” (not that I ever do give a film a free pass) review, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it.  Paramount has atoned for the mistakes in marketing Nemesis and hiring Braga over Moore for Enterprise.

May 10, 2009 - Posted by | Movie Reviews, Science Fiction, Star Trek | , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear it.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | May 10, 2009

  2. Mrs VS : I think there was a global catastrophe sometime in the past that caused drought, etc. Hence, the look of Arizona. I *think*.

    PIT#1: I saw Spock and Uhuru and went, OMG That’s crazy! I love it! So did the many fans around me. It was nice to see someone besides Kirk get the girl, especially when that someone was the underdog nerd.

    This is the movie they should’ve made 10 years ago. I finally enjoy the Star Trek franchise again and would love to see this crew turned into the next series.

    Comment by viricordova | May 11, 2009

  3. Stev, here is an interesting review for you to consider.

    Also, take a look at this commentary. I think you’ll find it interesting.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | May 11, 2009

  4. @Hank – thanks for the links they were an interesting read.

    @Viri – I’m not sure that PIT #1 is saying Spock & Uhura is a bad thing, just that sub-plot had NO basis from the series. And If Spock is an instructor at the Academy (as it’s implied) it’s a little unethical to have a relationship with one of his students.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | May 11, 2009

  5. That’s one of the really nice things about global warming. You can film your sci-fi back home in southern California but call it Iowa.

    Comment by Golgotha Kinslayer | May 13, 2009

  6. “@Viri – I’m not sure that PIT #1 is saying Spock & Uhura is a bad thing, just that sub-plot had NO basis from the series. ”

    I have to disagree. There was one episode where Spock and Uhura had a laps of judgement, and made out (of course, another episode, Kirk and Uhura did the same). But for the most part, it was hinted through out the three years of the Original series. The hints was similar to the more direct hints of TNG with Riker and Troi, although it was more appearent during the two-part episode “Encounter at Farpoint”. Point is, it was there, just not as clear cut.

    Comment by Willy-Bill | January 24, 2010


Leave a Reply

