Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

The P.I.T.s Can’t Agree on the Next Movie.

Regular readers of this blog know that the family will watch a movie for review and then I will pull tropes from the movie for use in your games.  Recently reviewed movies with GitUo (Gaming in the Universe of…) articles in the works are:

Tron
Big Trouble in Little China
Buckaroo Banzai
Race to Witch Mountain.

The PITs (Paladins In Training) have not been agreeing over which Movie to watch/review next.  I’m turning it over to you.  Leave me a list of the top ten movies you’d like to see reviewed.  The top vote getters (if they are in the VS film collection) will be watched/reviewed/mined.

April 28, 2009 - Posted by | Fluff/Inspiration, Gaming in the Universe of..., Movie Reviews, News, Reviews and Culture, RPG | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I confess I’m not a regular reader, but here goes…

    10. Soylent Green
    9. The Witchfinder General
    8. Silent Running
    7. V For Vendetta
    6. The Three Musketeers (1970’s)
    5. Golden Voyage of Sinbad
    4. The Wicker Man (1970’s)
    3. Planet of the Apes (how has there NOT been a game about this yet?)
    2. GI Joe (the 80’s cartoon– ditto)
    1. The Mummy

    Comment by joebloch | April 28, 2009

  2. All of the movies I can think of aren’t age appropriate: The Crow, Nightbreed, Forbidden Zone. The closest I can think of that might be appropriate are the first Batman movie or Ginger Snaps.

    Comment by Golgotha Kinslayer | April 28, 2009

  3. How about the classic universal monsters? Frankenstein, Dracula, Wolfman… I would love to know what the kids thought of those versus, say, Van Helsing.

    Comment by Dr. Checkmate | April 28, 2009

  4. my friends have been telling me to watch “Little Nemo”. Which they say that your childhood is not sufficiently scarred until you have seen this movie.

    Comment by Macguffin | April 29, 2009

  5. How about some other classics:

    Labyrinth
    Dark Crystal
    Time Bandits

    Comment by Ruminator | April 29, 2009

  6. What about Disney’s “The Black Hole,” or 1980’s “Flash Gordon?” I consider both of those cheesey fun and I watch them any chance I get.

    Comment by Fraser | April 29, 2009

  7. I’ll second the nom for Time Bandits.

    Although, I’m thinking that the younger PiT’s might eb a little confused by it…

    And no love for The Princess Bride? Or even Stardust?

    Comment by Hank Harwell | April 30, 2009


Leave a Reply

