Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Vulcan Stev Family Movie Review: Big Trouble in Little China

big_trouble_in_little_chinaStarring:

Kurt Russell …  Jack Burton
Kim Cattrall …  Gracie Law
Dennis Dun …  Wang Chi
James Hong …  David Lo Pan
Victor Wong …  Egg Shen
Kate Burton …  Margo
Donald Li …  Eddie Lee
Carter Wong …  Thunder
Peter Kwong …  Rain
James Pax …  Lightning
Suzee Pai …  Miao Yin

Synopsis from IMDb: When Jack Burton wins a card game against his long time friend Wang, Wang explains that he doesn’t have Jack’s earnings on him, and he’ll pay Jack later, due to the fact that he has pick up his girlfriend at the airport. Seeing as how Jack wants his money as soon as possible, he offers to give Wang a ride to the airport. Unfortunately for the both of them, Wang’s girlfriend is kidnapped, due to the fact that she is a Chinese woman with green eyes, and in order for an immortal creature named David Lo Pan to turn back into a mortal human, he must marry her. Now it’s up to Jack Burton, Wang, and their friends to save her before it’s too late.

Reviewers: Vulcan Stev, PIT #1, PIT #2, PIT #3

VS: 1.5 pointed ears
This movie would be unbearable if it attempted to take itself seriously.  It’s a send-up and it knows it.  This is one of those movies that is watchable over-and-over.  I really enjoy this movie with one exception, the music.  I’ve never really liked John Carpenter’s music.  Carpenter’s music in my opinion suffers from the fact that he’s the director and if he thinks it’s cool then in it stays.  Every Carpenter movie I’ve seen has had his music in the score and the music has always seemed over the top.

The other thing that has ALWAYS bugged me, the movie starts off with Egg Shen meeting with his lawyer.  That sort of plot foreshadowing is an established format, that’s not my problem.  The cops arrive after the group leaves in the Porkchop Express.  We never see Egg Shen arrested, so why does he need to meet with a lawyer?

PIT #1 – 1.75 pointed ears
I enjoyed this movie so much I had to mirror some of the martial arts stances.  Unfortunately I mirrored the stances near the refrigerator.  I ended up in the ER after I severely bruised the knuckles on my right hand when I hit the fridge.  This is another one of those movies Daddy has in his collection that requires multiple viewings to appreciate.  The more times I watch this movie the better I like it.

PIT #2 – 1.3 pointed ears
This might have been a better movie if it had been shot as the sequel to Buckaroo Banzai.  I was left with a lot of “What the heck is going on” moments.

PIT #3 – .75 pointed ears
This is a confusing movie.  Why does Jack need to kiss the lawyer in the sewer and then again in the elevator?  Cool martial arts fighting at the end of the movie saves this from being a complete waste of time.

5.3 pointed ears out of 8 – This is a movie that you’ll either find watchable or find incomprehensible.  It’s not a bad movie.  It’s also not a great movie.  A cult classic? yes.  It’s not Carpenter’s best film but it’s far from his worst.  Worthwhile viewing while sitting at home.

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | Movie Reviews | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I’m sad you didn’t like it as much as I do (it’s one of my favorite movies of all time) but I’m glad you enjoyed it. I do think PIT #2 might have enjoyed it more if Buckaroo hadn’t gotten in the way. Hopefully PIT #3 will come to appreciate it more in time (including the smooching). PIT #1 seems to “get” it, though the refrigerator probably doesn’t like that much.

    Comment by Andrew Modro | April 23, 2009

  2. I’m with Andrew. Its on my list of ‘All-time Faves,’ along with the Princess Bride and Metropolis. I’d love to see those GitUo posts.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | April 23, 2009

  3. @Andrew – 1.5 out of 2 ain’t a bad rating 8-). Carpenter’s music has always been a put-off for me. I’d probably enjoy the flick more if someone else had done the music.

    @Hank – the GitUo article for BTiLC is in the pipeline.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 23, 2009

  4. @Stev: 1.5-out-of-2 ain’t bad, but it also ain’t the 4-out-of-2 I would give it. 😉

    Comment by Andrew Modro | April 25, 2009

  5. Best movie ever!

    Comment by Samuel Van Der Wall | April 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

