Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Day 96 of Being a Cancer Survivor

rib4In her own words today.

This past week has been okay. The family doctor said I no longer had an ear infection. I do however still have a lot of mucus that I am hacking up or blowing out my nose. It is yellowish in the morning mostly but clears up during the day when I am upright. I have been able to get a lot of things done during this week. I really feel it the second day if I missed a nap time. I had more fluid drained off on Tuesday. I have a referral for therapy for lymphedema, we want to keep it to a minimum. I made it to a wig shoppe and bought wig shampoo and conditioner. I have washed all my wigs now.

The chiropractor/nutritionist told me that chemo works better on a two day fast. I have done this all three times. This time water was tasting pretty bad so I drank more green tea. This morning I had a slight headache. Didn’t pay much attention to it figured most likely due to hungry. Anyway, after chemo and finally eating something I had diarrhea three times in an hour and a half. They were all yellow in color. After a nap I had more diarrhea, this time dark green. I called the cancer center and they want me to do a stool sample and then take it to the hospital lab to be tested. It is now 9:30 pm and I have not stooled. Normally I get constipated from the chemo so I am on a stool softener. I think I will not take that tonight. Because I have not had any vomiting the doctor is asking me to try and not take one of my medications. He says it has nastier side effects and so would like to reduce its consumption. I stayed home from my children’s play tonight as I did not want to have diarrhea at the school. I went to see the play yesterday when they did it for the middle-schoolers so I did not miss the play.

Well, that about sums me up. I am looking forward to the warmer weather so I can do some planting. I am going to try a containerized garden.

April 18, 2009 - Posted by | Mrs. Vulcan Stev's Fight | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Stev,

    Please let Gin know that I admire her more and more with each update. You got a great Lady there.

    BTW, did I ever tell you that the Princess Bride’s middle name is Virginia?

    Comment by Hank Harwell | April 18, 2009

  2. @Hank – Will do. No, you had not mentioned that the Princess Bride has a middle name of Virginia.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

