Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Day 87 of Being a Cancer Survivor

rib4This morning Mrs. VS woke up to find most of her hair in her pillow.  She was understandably upset.  At her insistence we went downstairs and shaved off the remainder of her hair.  AS tears streamed down her face I took her in my arms and kissed the now bald head and told her I loved her.  Her expression of disbelief told me I need to do more than just words.  Her face took on a puzzled expression when I took the shaver and started cutting off my own hair.

She’s still upset over the hair loss, but at least there’s a small glimmer of a smile.  She even went a got a green wig (green being my favorite color) and is wearing that around the house today.

Friday’s chemotherapy went better than two weeks ago.  Mrs. VS handled it better without quite as much nausea for the first few days.  However yesterday food started tasting nasty again.  Rather than read my filtered perceptions, here’s Mrs. VS in her own words.
I received second chemo treatment on April 3. The weekend went better than the first chemo treatment weekend. Being on an antibiotic for the ear infection really helped. Yesterday was my last day of antibiotics. It still feels like I have some oceans in my ears, but they don’t hurt. Just a bunch of mucus. I have a recheck on the ears on Mon. April 13. I have been losing my hair all week long. Today it was so scratchy I just pulled it out. What didn’t come out was then shaved, there wasn’t much left. My kids thought I should wear the green wig first so I have green hair today. I am in the phase were I feel like I am made of ooze. It leaves me with an imbalance and I notice my vision is not the sharpest either. Every thing tastes terrible, metallic like. There is some nausea associated with the terrible tastes of everything. I am pretty tired, and I get dry really fast.

April 9, 2009 - Posted by | Mrs. Vulcan Stev's Fight | ,

7 Comments »

  1. I just want to let you know that I’ll be praying for you. My wife fought a similar battle with Hodgkins lymphoma, so I understand the difficulties.

    My wife never let me shave my head… but I did wear one of her wigs in public once for a good laugh. Keep working on that “small glimmer of a smile.” The two best medicines in the world are prayer and laughter.

    Comment by Josh | April 9, 2009

  2. I think that was the sweetest thing I have ever heard someone do, Stev. You just upped the bar for husbands everywhere.

    Comment by Golgotha Kinslayer | April 9, 2009

  3. My best to you, Mrs VS. As a woman who’s female relatives have a history of cancer, I’m really not sure what else to say except that I’m crying right now.

    Comment by viricordova | April 10, 2009

  4. Thank you for mentioning that, Viricordova. Your eyes weren’t the only ones watering-up.

    Comment by Golgotha Kinslayer | April 10, 2009

  5. @Josh – Thanks.

    @G.K. – *blush*

    @Viri – Thanks.

    To everyone from Mrs. VS it means so much to me that my husband’s friends and readers are praying for me.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 10, 2009

  6. Just read the account. Good job. As a loving husband myself, I’m proud of you.

    So, did you finish the job on your own head, or was the demonstration enough?

    Just curious.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | April 10, 2009

  7. @Hank – Bald heads in Iowa spring are NOT warm. I’m not sporting the Vin Diesel look, but a freshly minted Marine recruit has more hair than I do right now.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

