Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Regarding WotC/Hasbro’s less than intelligent descision…

I’ve been reading a lot of venom regarding WotC’s latest customer relations SNAFU.  The tirades are justified and I can’t blame my fellow gamers for feeling betrayed.  Corporate America has swallowed D&D and the committees are treating us like a focus group that can be manipulated. 

Since we are pretty much agreed that WotC has screwed up royally this time may I politely turn your attention towards a company that knows what gamers want.  A company that has available .pdfs, reasonable licensing and print on demand.  Pinnacle Entertainment Group publishers of the Savage Worlds rules.  A simple easy to learn system that can do just about anything.

But Stev, we still like D&D, it’s just WotC that has earned our ire.  Fine might I suggest Shaintar, a D&D like setting using the Savage rules system.  With a D20 conversion, your D&D, characters, monsters, settings can be imported. 

I understand that WotC has ticked you off.  Do something about it.

April 6, 2009 - Posted by | News, Reviews and Culture, RPG | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Goodman Games is offering a sale for their True20 in RPGNow.

    http://www.rpgnow.com/product_info.php?products_id=55402

    Comment by Questing GM | April 6, 2009

  2. Well… I think it’s a bit bone headed but “screwed up royally?” Eh. *Shrug* Honestly, I’ve not purchased any of the pdf products they pulled, had no plans to, nor even cared they existed… I play 4e and will continue to do so until my GM stops running. I may run 4e but I’m still toying with various systems (Pathfiner, Savage Worlds, the fantasy supplement for Mutants and Masterminds) so I’ve not decided.

    I don’t mean to be so pokey about it but I hate being spoken for. 😛

    Comment by justaguy | April 7, 2009

  3. greywulf sneaks in, mutters ‘Warriors & Warlocks’ under his breath and wanders off

    I forsee Good Times for Pinnacle, Green Ronin and the rest as a result of this decision. Well done, Wizards of the Coast 😀

    Comment by greywulf | April 7, 2009

  4. Paizo, Pinnacle, and Kenzer are all tremendous companies with good customer relations. There a ton more besides that make great games. Hope they see a sales boom because of this.

    Comment by Zachary | April 7, 2009

  5. @QuestingGM Thanks for the update

    @Justaguy To me Boneheaded = Screwed up Royally. Wasn’t trying to speak for everyone. Just feeling the pulse of the posted blog articles as of midnight Monday

    @Greywulf True but I’m still dinking around with M&M, Savage Worlds is my go to system.

    @Zach This is why I think WotC screwed up. They’re sending many loyal customers to the competition.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | April 7, 2009


Leave a Reply

