Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Day 73 of Being a Cancer Survivor

rib4I received an e-mail today asking why there weren’t daily updates regarding Mrs. VS.  The simple answer is that most days the update would read.  Mrs. VS got up, fixed herself breakfast.  After kids and husband left she sat down and folded laundry / played computer / cried.  She got tired and napped until kids came home / husband came home / dog woke her up.  Went to bed after supper and was rudely awakened when thoughtless husband came to bed two hours later.  Post like that would tend to get monotonous and repetitive after awhile.  I’ll be updating weekly unless there’s Earth-Shattering news….  Today qualifies as Earth Shattering.

First status in Mrs VS’s own words….

Being that I have both chemo and cold it is hard to tell what symptoms are from what. I just feel cruddy. Obviously the cold has me feeling congested and occasionally hacking up yucky stuff. I’ve also faced headache, and earaches. At first I faced some sore throat too. Other symptoms I have had are constipation, nausea, unsteadiness on my feet, some disorientation/confusion. My vision has been a little weird and nothing tastes right. Not even water. My jaw and teeth seem to have tightened, flossing has become difficult. Although I haven’t lost any hair yet my head does feel wierd, my hair seems coarser and my head itches frequently. I have also noticed I have become very sun sensitive. I walked the dog once and that is all it took to get a sunburn. I need to make sure I use sunscreen even on cloudy days. Tired is another thing I feel alot. Some of my meds even cause drowsiness. Anyway, the treatment for chemo seems to be to get plenty of liquid and plenty of rest. The way to beat a cold is to drink plenty of liquid and get plenty of rest. It seems the course for me right now is to get plenty of liquid and plenty of rest.

Today when I came home from my bar run, Mrs. VS was feeling VERY depressed.  She was considering leaving us and going away because she was feeling useless.  She doesn’t think she’s being much help with the Can Company.  She knows she’s not being much help with the puppet team.  She can’t help me out with open game night when she’s feeling sick.  She was just feeling useless.

I spent the better part of the afternoon talking with her and trying to figure out what we could do to help her feel less useless.  Mrs. VS confided in me that she had been asked by a co-worker to come to the co-worker’s church and help out with their deaf ministry, Mrs. VS is an interpreter for the Deaf by trade.  She politely turned them down thinking that because I’m involved with the Children’s programs at our own church, she wouldn’t be able to attend a different church on regular basis without causing some problems.

There currently is no deaf ministry at our church and honestly I can’t think of any deaf people in our community.  So I discussed this with the Senior Pastor.  His solution was rather elegant.  Rather than making a big deal about Mrs. VS leaving our church to attend elsewhere, he wants to officially send her out as a missionary from our church to the church with the Deaf Ministry.  She’ll still be part of our church just doing what she does best at a place that actually needs her skills.

Mrs. VS brightened immediately at this suggestion.  I haven’t seen a smile on her face since she started the chemo.  Thanks Pastor Gary for taking what could have been a problem and turning it into something positive.

Unless there is something major, I’ll post again next week Friday.  Check my Twitter Feed or Facebook for listings of new posts.  I know that there are lot of folks that check this blog for updates about Mrs. VS but don’t really care to read about my RPG stuff.

March 26, 2009 - Posted by | Mrs. Vulcan Stev's Fight | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. That’s very good to hear. When my aunt was also depressed when she started her chemo, my mom insisted that she get out and socialize.

    That’s what I think will keep her spirits up. Stay strong.

    Comment by Questing GM | March 26, 2009

  2. Kudos to Pastor Gary!

    We had a similar situation in a church my wife and I led. We had TONS of kids and no leadership (other than the two of us). The daughter of one of our regular attendees heard about our plight, and offered her services as a Sunday School teacher a position we desperately wanted filled. She did so after consulting her own pastor, and the solution was for all intents and purposes the same. So, we got the help we needed and she was of service somewhere. It was definitely a win/win. Just as I’m sure this will be for Gin and this other church.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | March 26, 2009

  3. A wise man, Pastor Gary. As always, if you and your family need anything that it is in my power to give or do, just ask. I look forward to good news.

    Comment by Andrew Modro | March 27, 2009

  4. 😀

    All this time I thought Pastor Gary was one of your puppets.

    Silly me.

    But, that is a great solution!

    Comment by drcheckmate | March 27, 2009

  5. @Dr. C LOL

    I will tell Pastor Gary that. He’ll get a kick out of it. But no, the format for Goober is that Goober misunderstands some part of Pastor’s sermon. It’s designed to explain things to the kids before hand. Though we’ve discovered that it explains things to the adults as well.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | March 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

