Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Life near an Iowa cornfield: special crappy edition

The first bit is a good news/bad news scenario.  I’ve been so busy at work that I no longer have room inside the building to store inventory.  I run a reverse business where I buy my product from random walk-in traffic.  I then turn around and sell that product to six main customers.

Saturday I had enough stuff come in the door that I didn’t have enough time to sort everything.  Today while I was sorting Saturday’s overrun I had twice that amount come in the door.  My profit margin is so slim that I cannot afford to hire help at the prevailing minimum wage as I would lose money for every hour worked.  I’ve been dealing with a backlog of unsorted product since January when we learned Mrs. VS has cancer.

Today I hastily unloaded the van and can trailer so I could go make my bar run to Eldora.  Winds were out of the south today and really blowing against my trailer.  This is the same trailer that got broke into this winter.  Becasue of the cold temps the repairs to the trailer were designed to be a quick and temporary fix that was supposed to be more permanently repaired once the temps warmed and I could stay outside long enough to fix it right.  Plywood was nailed in place over the holes in the chicken wire.

While driving into Eldora the wind caught the plywood and ripped it clean off the side of my trailer.  Now I would be unable to do my complete bar run as the van didn’t have enough space to hold everything.  One of the grocery stores that I service let me root through their scrap lumber to make a temp fix to my temp fix to least allow me to make the complete bar run today.  While I was fixing the trailer my pants split in the seat from crotch to crack.  Natrual air conditioning at 50 degrees is not the warmest sensation.

Enroute home which took twice the normal time as I was driving slow due to the damaged trailer, Mom and I heard from my baby sister.  My nephew has a blood disorder that could be luekemia.

My day peaked this morning when I inadvertantly started the next RPG Bloggers meme.  How was your day?

March 16, 2009 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Little Dutch Can | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Geez Steve.

    Comment by Gary E. Weller | March 16, 2009

  2. Is it sad that all I can think to say is, “What meme?”

    Well, remember what Ford and Zaphod say, “From here, things can only get better…” We all know that’s a load of hooey, but Hitchhikers is always good for a smile around here.

    Comment by drcheckmate | March 16, 2009

  3. The worst thing that can happen in an already bad day is for one’s pants to rip. It’s like being kicked while down.

    Comment by drcheckmate | March 16, 2009

  4. Just remember where your towel is, Steve.

    Comment by Andrew Modro | March 17, 2009

  5. @DrC. The meme is scheduled for next Monday. Stat yourself out as Monster/villain in your favorite system.

    @Andrew My towel is in the laundry. *sigh*

    Need to review the Hitchhiker’s movie.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | March 17, 2009

  6. The worst thing that can happen in an already bad day is for one’s pants to rip. It’s like being kicked while down.

    I’ll only add “in the groin.”

    @Stev. I liked the BBC version much better.

    Comment by Hank Harwell | March 17, 2009

  7. I agree with Hank. The BBC version rocks!

    And, I’ve already done the stat yourself in your favorite system thing. I’m not doing it in BFRPG. Eee… That would not be pretty.

    Comment by drcheckmate | March 18, 2009


Leave a Reply

