Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Gary Gygax Haikus – A Tribute

I don’t have lots of fond memories of playing D&D as a teen.  D&D in my home was subject to parental objections due to the “Satan’s Game” scare of the mid-80s.  I’ve just recently begun playing the game again with my daughter (PIT #1) and her gaming group.  Since we’ve only had three sessions, I can’t wax eloquently on the many fun times I’ve had due to Sir Gygax’s work.  That said, I do thank Mr. Gygax for the work he did as I have spent enjoyable afternoons crawling through dungeons with my children.

In honor of Gary and and his creation I have composed the following:

A tribute to one,
Gary Gygax is his name
He gave geeks status

Special thanks for the
Original Dungeon Master
We’re here ‘cuz of you

He has left us for
The eternal dungeon crawl
Godspeed, Sir Gygax

Has it been a year
Since Gary Gygax left us
What would the gnomes think?

Photo removed due to threatened lawsuit

March 4, 2009 - Posted by | Blog Carnival, Legacy D&D, RPG | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Stev,

    The CGG has, of late, sponsored a couple of panels at various cons (they’ve also done chapel services on Sundays). One such panel (I think it was at GenCon, of all places) featured the topic of ‘Religion and RPGs’ (I’ve posted the videos at the long-neglected JesusGeeks network). Gary was a panelist there.

    In his later years, he was reading the Bible and trying to reconcile his faith with what he read. He grew up Jehovah’s Witness, but was looking at embracing a more orthodox position.

    Also, Gary’s co-creator for D&D, Dave Arneson, is a deacon in his church (I think he’s Lutheran).

    Comment by cleireac | March 4, 2009

  2. Hey, that’s the image I put together for when I did my special podcast episode last year! Glad it has found more uses. 🙂

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | March 5, 2009

  3. Found the image through Google images. I’ve updated the post to reflect your credit.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | March 5, 2009


Leave a Reply

