Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Getting a new group started ain’t as easy as I thought.

Friday Jan 23rd, I had my rulebooks.  I had my GM notes.  I had everything I needed to run the inaugural open game night at the local youth center.  I got there at 5:30 and set up.  By 7:00 I had 13 players and we spent a fun evening generating characters for the Stargate-SG21 game I had set-up.

Because it took us awhile to get 13 characters generated, we didn’t get much into the actual game.  Everyone seemed anxious to come back on Jan 30 for a game continuation.  Jan 3o rolled around and no one showed.  Turns out that the two area high schools where 90% of my players attend were playing each other (high school b’ball is big in Iowa).

Last night I was ready for round two.  Once again no one showed.  Called the players, everyone was at a B’ball game.  The first thing I can hear is folks telling me that I need to run a game night at a time that fits my players schedules.  That’s the rub.  The local youth center is housed in the church where I’m the Children’s Pastor.  Automatically, Wednesday and Sundays are out because the youth center is closed as church is in session.  Tuesday and Thursday evenings, my business is open to the general public.  That leaves Monday, Friday, and Saturday and I want to stay away from gaming on a school night.  I  plan on asking my players which works best for the schedules, Friday or Saturday.

Small town Iowa doesn’t have a local comic book store where I can post flyers for the game night.  In fact the church is starting the youth center because there’s no place for the local teens to hang out.  I know the interest is there.  I just want to get it running on a consistent basis.

February 7, 2009 - Posted by | Connection Ministries, Gaming Notes, Observations of a Noob GM, RPG | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I feel your pain, man.

    I;ve gamed all of about three times in the last four or five ‘months. All card or board, no rpg.

    I’m hoping to stir up some interest in a Risus Ranger Co. X one-shot to see how it goes.

    Keep trying. Maybe Saturday afternoons are the answer?

    Comment by Hank Harwell | February 7, 2009

  2. The problem with Saturday afternoon is I am wiped after being open Saturday am. Might try late Saturday afternoon.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | February 7, 2009

  3. Well, by this time next year you might well be saying, “When we come back from Basketball Season, I’ll have a brand new campaign for you all.” And, maybe some one will want to start a second game 🙂

    Also, just noticed one of your tweets. You should totally invite Mike Rowe!

    Comment by drcheckmate | February 7, 2009

  4. It’s frustrating. I hope you’re being prophetic. 😎

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | February 7, 2009


Leave a Reply

