Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

25 things you didn’t know about me.

This is floating around Facebook.  When it got to me last December it was 20 things.  Rather than redo my list, I’m porting it over here.

1. I am constantly amazed that people can arise before 9:00 am with a smile on thier face.
2. I have been preforming puppets since I was in high school (early ’80s).
3. I have over 400 movies in my DVD collection.
4. I have no favorite Star Trek. I like ’em equally. TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY, ENT
5. I count aluminum cans for a living.
6. I collected pop cans as a child.
7. I currently collect trains.
8. I am my own boss. I work twice as hard as a 9-5er.
9. I always wanted to be Spider-Man. This really hasn’t changed now that I’m 40ish
10. I still read comic books.
11. I am constatnly amazed that my wife fell in love with me (even more amazed that she’s stuck around for 20+ years).
12. I have never owned a “new” car.
13. I am named in honor of my grandfathers as is my oldest son ( a family tradition).
14. I can decorate 2 christmas trees using nothing but train shaped ornaments.
15. My heritage is completely Dutch.
16. I cannot fathom spending money on designer jeans.
17. I still own shirts that predate my meeting my wife.
18. I love it when I share nostalgia with my children and they in turn think it’s “cool” (ie DVDs of shows I watched as a child, games I played as a teen, comics that I still read)
19. Every cat that I have owned (not necessarily that has lived in my home) has been named Phread (pronounced Fred)
20. I have never lived in a state the does not border the Mississippi River.
21. The first non-GM vehicle that I owned was a Plymouth Voyager, my daughter wrecked it.
22. My favorite color is green.
23. EVERY girl I ever dated in college married the next guy she dated after she broke up with me including my wife.
24. I still have my childhood teddy bear.
25. I share my birthday with George Lucas, Robert Zemeckis, and Jamestown, Virginia
Things that happened on May 14 throughout history according to Wikipedia
  • 1607Jamestown, Virginia is settled as an English colony.
  • 1610 – Assassination of Henri IV of France, bringing Louis XIII to the throne.
  • 1643 – Four-year-old Louis XIV becomes King of France upon the death of his father, Louis XIII.
  • 1747 – A British fleet under Admiral George Anson defeats the French at first battle of Cape Finisterre.
  • 1796Edward Jenner administers the first smallpox vaccination.
  • 1804 – The Lewis and Clark Expedition departs from Camp Dubois and begins its historic journey by traveling up the Missouri River.
  • 1861 – The Canellas meteorite, an 859-gram chondrite-type meteorite, strikes the earth near Barcelona, Spain.
  • 1863American Civil War: The Battle of Jackson takes place.
  • 1913New York Governor William Sulzer approves the charter for the Rockefeller Foundation, which begins operations with a $100 million donation from John D. Rockefeller.
  • 1925Virginia Woolf‘s novel Mrs Dalloway is published.
  • 1927 – The University of Chicago‘s local collegiate organization, Phi Sigma, becomes incorporated under Illinois law as Eta Sigma Phi, the National Honorary Classical Fraternity.
  • 1935 – The Philippines ratifies an independence agreement.
  • 1939Lina Medina becomes the world’s youngest confirmed mother in medical history at the age of five.
  • 1940World War II: Rotterdam is bombed by the German Luftwaffe.
  • 1940 – World War II: The Netherlands surrenders to Germany.
  • 1943 – Sinking of the Australian Hospital Ship Centaur off the coast of Queensland, by a Japanese submarine.
  • 1948Israel is declared to be an independent state and a provisional government is established. Immediately after the declaration, Israel is attacked by the neighboring Arab states, triggering the 1948 Arab-Israeli War.
  • 1955Cold War: Eight communist bloc countries, including the Soviet Union, sign a mutual defense treaty called the Warsaw Pact.
  • 1961American civil rights movement: The Freedom Riders bus is fire-bombed near Anniston, Alabama, and the civil rights protesters are beaten by an angry mob.
  • 1970 – The Red Army Faction is established in Germany.
  • 1973 – Human Space Flight: Skylab, the United States’ first space station, is launched. It is the last launch of the Saturn V rocket. 
  • 1986Pride of Baltimore lost at sea.
  • 1988Carrollton bus collision: a drunk driver going the wrong way on Interstate 71 near Carrollton, Kentucky, United States hits a converted school bus carrying a church youth group. The crash and ensuing fire kill 27. 
  • 2005 – The former USS America (CV-66), a decommissioned supercarrier of the United States Navy, is deliberately sunk in the Atlantic Ocean after four weeks of live-fire exercises. She is the largest ship ever to be disposed of as a target in a military exercise.
  • Apparently May 14 is not a good day to be a ship

    February 1, 2009 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Vulcan Stev |

    No comments yet.

    Leave a Reply

