Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Vulcan Stev’s month-late movie review… “Fireproof”

fireproof-posterOriginally posted at the Dire Cafe November 29, 2008

Starring:
Kirk Cameron … Caleb Holt
Erin Bethea … Catherine Holt
Ken Bevel … Michael Simmons

Reviewers VS, Mrs. VS, P.I.T. #1, P.I.T. #2
7.5 out 8

This movie has a decidedly Christian worldview, not that I have a problem with that just letting you know.

Lt. Caleb Holt lives by the old firefighter’s adage: Never leave your partner behind. Inside burning buildings, it’s his natural instinct. In the cooling embers of his marriage, it’s another story.

After a decade of marriage, Caleb and Catherine Holt have drifted so far apart that they are ready to move on without each other. Yet as they prepare to enter divorce proceedings, Caleb’s dad asks his son to try an experiment: The Love Dare.

While hoping The Love Dare has nothing to do with his parents’ newfound faith, Caleb commits to the challenge. But can he attempt to love his wife while avoiding God’s love for him? Will he be able to demonstrate love over and over again to a person that’s no longer receptive to his love? Or is this just another marriage destined to go up in smoke?

This is another movie from the same group that produced Facing the Giants last year. Fed up with the depravity and schlock in your standard Hollywood fare, this group of Christians have managed to make watchable movies.

VS 2 pointed ears. – Although drama is not my favorite genre of motion picture, I will admit to enjoying this movie. I cannot say that my marriage is in trouble and I was shown how to save it, nor that having seen this film changed my life but I have heard these lines used by close friends and family.

I will say that the quality of the writing and production values left me pleasantly surprised. This movie actually has been held over for the third straight week at the dollar theater. It stayed a week longer than “The Dark Knight”. It also switched theaters from the small to the large with “TDK”.

Whether you subscribe to the same faith as the producers is irrelevant to the overall quality of the production. This is probably not a good “date” movie unless you and your date are seriously involved as the message is deffinitely directed towards married couples. A less-than-serious girl/boy-friend might get the wrong impression.

Mrs. VS 2 pointed ears – I wouldn’t have enjoyed the movie quite so much if I hadn’t seen it with my husband.

P.I.T. #1 2 pointed ears – Very, very moving.

P.I.T. #2 1.5 pointed ears – This movie could’ve used some more action, but then that’s my personal opinion

January 26, 2009 - Posted by | Movie Reviews | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

