Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Vulcan Stev’s month late movie review “The Day the Earth Stood Still”

Originally posted at the Dire Cafe January 9, 2009

Starring:dtess

Keanu Reeves … Klaatu
Jennifer Connelly … Helen Benson
Kathy Bates … Regina Jackson
Jaden Smith … Jacob Benson
John Cleese … Professor Barnhardt
Jon Hamm … Michael Granier
Kyle Chandler … John Driscoll

I didn’t go into this movie with high expectations as remakes are not known for their originality. That said, this was a very well done movie. Having seen (and owning) the original on DVD, I can say that the spirit of the original exists in this remake. However with the Cold War emphasis of the 1951 version replaced with a more environmental theme, this new imagining definitely captures the current zeitgeist of Hollywood. I had but one reservation with this film and will detail that below.

Reviewers: Mrs. VS, PIT’s # 2&3

VS: 1.75 pointed ears. Gort is here and much more menacing. The ship is not a saucer but something that is more plausible for traveling through space. Klaatu again learns about humanity’s potential through the eyes of a child. My only quibble is the highly ambiguous ending. Did Klaatu leave the Earth in that condition?

Mrs. VS 1.5 pointed ears. I went to see this movie with my family. I was expecting to have a nap. I was expecting the standard “hubby” movie with car chases and explosions. I was not expecting a drama with Sci Fi overtones. I actually began paying attention about a third of the way through.

PIT #2 2 pointed ears. I actually understood what was going on in this movie. When Dad sat down to watch the original, I couldn’t figure out why it was supposed to be SF. This movie is only SF because it has an alien.

PIT #3 1 pointed ear. Very few explosions. No car chases. At least there was no kissing. This was a boring movie. I did spot the guy from “Early Edition” and “King Kong”.

Overall 6.25 pointed ears out of 8

January 25, 2009 - Posted by | Movie Reviews | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

