Vulcan Stev's Database

It's a BLOG Captain, but not as we know it.

Cancer Crisis: Counting Down the Hours.

It is 11:20 in the morning Tuesday May 11.  I am sitting in the chair that I have basically occupied for the past 48 hours.  Yesterday Virginia’s dietary intake went from solids that she couldn’t eat on her own, to fluids, to liquid, to nothing as of this morning.

Her last (as of now) spoken sentence was to the boys last night.  She told them goodnight as I held the phone to her ear.  Sometime between that phone call and 6:00 am, Verizon decided to shut down our phone service.  I’ll admit that I had promised to get them some money last week, but God forbid that I be given any slack because I’ve sitting in the hospital.

/begin rant/ I couldn’t call anybody this morning.  My daughter was en route from Colorado without a phone.  I couldn’t call the boys this morning so they could tell Mommy good morning.  I couldn’t call Virginia’s family to let them know to get here sooner rather than later.  I spent three hours jumping through Verizon’s hoops before I actually got to talk to a real live person.  (No I don’t have my blasted account info handy.  I wasn’t expecting to be in Iowa City for 72 hours straight.)  Verizon compassionately informed me that for only $15 per line they would have my cell phone service reconnected in about an hour.  *sigh* /end rant/

I’ve called her family.  I’ve called my family.  Pvt Black Spartan is on her way and should be here about 8:30.

Virginia is not eating.  She is sleeping most of the time and will occasionally open her eyes.  Her breathing is somewhat labored but not the “Death Rasp”.  I asked the doctor about an IV for nutrition.  Imagine my surprise when I was told that food and water is counter-productive at this point.  Apparently the body works harder to process the intake and hastens the body’s demise.

We’re waiting on the ambulance to take her Hospice care at the home where my sister works.  It’s in the same community where I work and is only 10 miles south of the house (as the crow flies, call it a fifteen mile trip).  I’m on FB when I’m in the room (until the ambulance picks her up).  I don’t know what kind of coverage I’ll have at Hospice.

I appreciate all the kind words, prayers, buddy pokes, IMs, phone calls, text messages….  My eyes are currently dry but only because I’m cried out.  I’ll close off this update with the lyrics to a song that has been constantly running through my head these past three days.

O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder,
Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made;
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

When through the woods, and forest glades I wander,
And hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees.
When I look down, from lofty mountain grandeur
And see the brook, and feel the gentle breeze.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

And when I think, that God, His Son not sparing;
Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in;
That on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing,
He bled and died to take away my sin.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

When Christ shall come, with shout of acclamation,
And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart.
Then I shall bow, in humble adoration,
And then proclaim: “My God, how great Thou art!”

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

May 11, 2010 - Posted by | Life near an Iowa Cornfield, Mrs. Vulcan Stev's Fight | , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I was specifically thinking of you when I posted this today.
    http://www.dmperez.com/2010/05/11/inexplicable-justice/

    Is there a way we can help with keeping your phone going? I *know* how essential that thing is at this point.
    Please please please please please if there’s a way to help in that small part, say it.

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | May 11, 2010

  2. Oh son, how I wish I could hold you in my arms and cry with you. I am waiting for the moment that we see you again. I have Virginia’s last words to me written on my heart to cherish and hold forever and I am praying so hard that she will be able to say them to her own children and family. My whole head hurts with the pain of the tears I have shed. I didn’t know it was possible to love and care for someone so very much as I care for the five of you. Without God, we are absolutely nothing and with Him we can make it through this and we will prevail because He IS GOD

    Comment by JoAnne Nibbelink | May 11, 2010

  3. Just imagining the pain, fear, confusion, anger, love, and 1000 other emotions you are facing in these moments has brought me to tears and prayers for you and your family. It makes me long for the day when faith is made sight and we understand it better. Until then, rest gently in the love of the Father and those around you. HUGS!

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | May 11, 2010

  4. God bless you all. You are in my prayers.

    Comment by Berin Kinsman | May 11, 2010

  5. Lord have mercy. Prayers continue.

    Comment by Mountzionryan | May 11, 2010

  6. Your family is in all our prayers.

    Comment by Stuart | May 11, 2010

  7. How I whish you were still small enough to pick up and put your head on my shoulder and read you a book, Dad

    Comment by Gary Nibbelink | May 11, 2010

  8. No words. Just prayers.

    Comment by greywulf | May 11, 2010

  9. Oh, Steve…my heart goes out to you and yours.

    That hymn was my grandfather’s favorite. I cannot hear it or read the lyrics without tearing up. It is truly one of the greatest hymns I have ever heard.

    I do not know you or Virginia but you have come to life courtesy of Berin. My heart and prayers are with you at this time.

    Matt

    Comment by Matt | May 11, 2010

  10. Anyone that wants to help out:

    I set this up to bring some help to Steve and family.
    http://vulcanstev.chipin.com/vulcanstev-solidarity-fund

    Comment by Daniel M. Perez | May 11, 2010

  11. You’re not alone, Steve. You’ve got an army on your side.

    Comment by Xose Lucero | May 11, 2010

  12. @Everyone – I normally answer each of you individually. I hope you’ll forgive me for not doing so this time.

    Wow! you’ve left totally and utterly speechless.

    Comment by Vulcan Stev | May 11, 2010

  13. My friend emailed me about this, thanks great, I didnt even thought that it could be like written here …

    Comment by Herewherito | May 13, 2010

  14. My friend emailed me about this, thanks great, I didnt even thought that it could be like written here … I am serfing from my mobile phone, may be u ll make mobile version of your site ? Good post …

    Comment by Herewherito | May 13, 2010

  15. Hey, Steve…I’m sorry for your loss. I found this post through Greywulf’s blog…and am truly blessed to see a fellow believer AND RPG enthusiast. My prayers are with you and yours, my brother. May He hold you up when you’ve not the strength to stand on your own.

    As a graduate of Central Bible College myself, I salute you, as well! Take care, and I look forward to shaking your hand someday on the other side of the veil, myself!

    Joe

    Comment by Joe Patterson | May 13, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

