The Magical Gnome, a new Play by Post RPG Forum

magicalgnome-300x264I’ve been having a lot of fun playing in a PbP game using RISUS rules. It was one of the inspirations for the TwitteRPG (which is still accepting players).  However I received quite a few replies of regret, ‘I’d love to play but the time zones would be a problem’.  I was thinking what could I do to make TwitteRPG available to those fine folks.  Then it hit me, could we do a PbP.  I broached the subject with a few of the individuals who expressed an interest in TwitteRPG and was met with an enthusiastic response.

One of the respondants was the Gamefiend over at At Will.  He mentioned he was thinking of starting a PbP over at 4Etopia.  We decided to collaborate on a dedicated PbP forum.

Announcing The Magical Gnome a dedicated Play by Post forum hosted by the NING network.  This is a free network and to use it you’ll need a free membership.

The site is still under construction and the forums rules of conduct are still be written.  But the basic premise is any game any system.  Announce the game on the main page and then start a group for your game.  There may be underage members on the network so please mark games appropriately.

You can run your games or join available games.

6 Comments

  1. @Ruminator – Those rules are very similar to what I’ve been typing out for TMG. Do you mind if I borrow some verbiage here and there?

  2. @MZR – No, TwitteRPG is a game that will be run on Twitter. The Magical Gnome is place where anyone can run a PbP. I’m still working on getting the TwitteRPG game going and I’m starting up a Car Wars type game over at TMG.

  3. I have started using Magical Gnome and at first glance, it’s pretty good. It’s a bit cross-between Facebook and Forums and is dedicated to PBP games.

    Initially navigating the site and logging in is straightforward, and finding a game to play is pretty self-explanitory too. I havent got too far yet though with playing in any of the games I’ve joined.

    One of the problems which I guess will plague the site is a number of PBP games which have been started but abandoned. I havent seen a good solution to clearing all these out, and many PBP list sites are plagued with old games still hanging around!

    I am going to stick with site and see what I can get out of it.

Leave a comment