April’s RPG Blog Carnival: When your DM shares your warped sense of humor.

rpgblogcarnivallogocopyThis month’s topic being hosted by A Butterfly Dreaming is one with which I’m very comfortable.  My children and I all have a very warped sense of humor.  We are constantly spouting puns, pointing out absurdities, poking fun at the universe, whenever we do ANYTHING together.  I actively encourage this behaviour in my kids.  However we do know that as a family what we consider amusing is not everyone’s cup of tea.  That said, imagine my surprise when my daughter introduced me to her DM.  Bill and I are cut from the same cloth.  Our sense of humor meshes like compatible gears.

Bill not only encourages ad-libs in character but he’ll incorporate them into the  game on the fly.  A couple of for instances…

The first time I gamed with my daughter’s group, Bill introduced my character to the party when they entered a brand new dungeon, “You see a badly injured Gnome in a healing trance huddled in the corner.”  After some investigation by the party Bill told them that the door into the next chamber was booby trapped.  He then mentioned that the door trap was responsible for the decimation of Nevet’s party leaving him as the sole survivor.  I quipped that Nevets was suffering “Doorphobia” after seeing his party completely destroyed by the trap.

Bill immediately told me to write that on my character sheet.  I play it up big time whenver we come across a door.  Nevets is NEVER the first person to go through a door, archways and openings are different matters entirely.  When we finally found the exit to the dungeon it was a hologram.  As it wasn’t a door, Nevets made a beeline for the exit.

Another time one of our PCs did something incredibly stupid and got himself stuck inside a puzzle box.  I made the comment that what the party really needed was a monkey that would come slap the PC whenever he did something stupid and then maybe he’d learn.  Sure enough the next game session a monkey walked up to our Kender and started following her around.  The Ranger again did something stupid.  The monkey walked over to him and flung poo in his face.

The most recent incident resulted in some homework on my part.  We had just defeated a demon and we were divvying up the treasure.  I had Jazz sitting on my left and Jordan sitting on my right.  While I was talking with Jordan, Jazz excused herself and I missed her saying that.  Without my realizing it the DM’s dog jumped up into Jazz’s chair.  Without turning, I asked Jazz a question, no response.  I turned and looked and was surprised to see the pooch, I quipped that Rayne, Jazz’s character, must have found a cloak of canineability.

Bill looked me straight in the eye and grinned, “Write it up and she has it.”  So now I’m in the process of writing up a Cloak of Canineability.

Humor and gaming.  If you and your DM mesh it’s fun for everyone.

2 Comments

  1. A GM with a warped sense of humor is a guarantee that your character will live in interesting times…

    Nice stories. ^_^

Leave a comment