A Hearty Thank You and Welcome to the Network’s Readers

Thank you for adding my blog to the network.  I would like to introduce my new readers to the RPG section of the Database.

I am not as avid a D&D player as some of you.  My D&D gaming during high school fell victim to the “Devil’s Game” scare of the mid-80’s.  It was only recently that I’ve been playing again, thanks to my daughter (PIT#1).  I actively play D&D 2e on a weekly basis with her gaming group.  My first experience with 4e will be this Saturday when I cover world D&D at my FLGS.  So although I enjoy D&D I am not very conversant in it at this time.

I actively GM games for the open game night at our local youth center.  My system of choice is Savage Worlds and we currently have a running Stargate campaign using the Savage Worlds conversion for that fine game by Alderac.  I have a Necessary Evil campaign in the works for my players at their request.

I struggle with coming up with my own ideas, apparently I’m not alone.  One of the exercises that I’ve been attempting recently is to start thinking outside the box.  My children and I have been reviewing movies for a number of years, so recently I’ve been looking at the movies we’ve reviewed and trying to figure out how I’d use the universe from the movie in various gaming scenarios.  I’m also flipping things on their heads and looking for inspiration in some not so obvious places; fortune cookies, commercials, TV.

Thanks for stopping by.   It is my sincere hope that you find something here worth reading.

What movies would you like to see the family review with a subsequent article about gaming in that universe?

5 Comments

  1. he he he, how about a review of gaming in the universe of “the melancholy life of haruhi sezumiya.” its an… odd anime. ^^

    but welcome to the network! I just got accepted myself!
    *cough*Ideamancer.blogspot.com*cough*
    but you know that already. Differently from you, however, is that I’ve ONLY played D&D (3.x and 4e). After I finish running the keep on the shadowfel, I’ll branch out as far as d20 modern (basically the same thing as 3.x, as far as I am aware)

  2. Welcome to the Family! We’re like the mafia. But in a good way. And we roll dice. Ok, not like the mafia at all.

    I hope you enjoy playing 4e, and look forward to hearing of your experiences. Savage Worlds is something that’s sitting, unplayed, on my bookshelf. I keep hearing so many good things about it that one of these days I’m actually going to get round to playing the thing……

    And given your nickname, I’m looking forward to your thoughts about gaming in the world of the new Star Trek movie 😀

  3. I envy you for playing 2e.
    My all time favorite D&D, excluding kits, combat tactics, and all that late 90’s crap they put in there…

  4. Well it’s been said before but – welcome to the network. Sounds like you have pretty much rpg experience and I’m looking forward to read more on terms past and present. Furthermore I wish you a lot of fun with 4th edition, something I haven’t managed to acquire in a few attempts. If you feel the same, maybe you try Paizo’s pathfinder system – or stick with 2nd edition, I guess both variants would work ;).

Leave a comment